NYC Food Film Festival,NYC,Food Film Festival

In short, I loved it! I attended the screenings on Tuesday and Wednesday, June 16-17, at the Water Taxi Beach locations on Long Island City and at the South Street Seaport, respectively. Click-through for my mini film reviews, links to online videos, menus, and photos.

Tuesday films, with links to video streams if available:
The Food Hypnotist Cute little animation about being cured of food… but who would want that?!
Food Cops Umm, I went to the bar during this one. My bad.
The Sacred Food I’m thrilled this is online–WATCH IT! It’s beautiful–a short documentary about continuing the tradition of wild rice harvesting by Native Americans in Minnesota today. 6 minutes. 20 pounds of wild rice was donated and served!
Thanksgiving Fairly self-explan.
Mutton: The Movie Watch this, too, it’s hilarious–the culture of mutton farming (and BBQing) in northwest Kentucky. And if you’ve ever read this blog, you know I LOVE me some Kentucky. 17 minutes.
The Sandwich Thief I loved this and wish I could find it online–a short comedy-suspense about a robbery and a sandwich.
New Jersey’s Red October Short documentary about cranberry farming in NJ.
Tuesday’s menu: barbecued mutton, cornbread, and slaw; wild rice; and dried cranberries. I also curled up in a blanket with one of the festival mixologist’s concoctions, Maker’s bourbon, smoked cola, and lemon.

Wednesday films, with links to video streams if available:
Come Have An Omelette With Me I love the music, and this is just fantastic animation. You’ve got to see the turtles. 1 minute.
Clam Pie I think the premise was that clam pie is so good you’d die and go to Heaven? I don’t know. But I will say that the clam pie that was served was the best thing I’d ever eaten since the mutton the night before. Oh my God.
The Sacred Food
Celeriac A graduate film school student had to make a short horror film and found inspiration in the kitchen. The audience went nuts! 2.5 minutes.
Eat Your Fill A man eats everything fried and/or served on a stick at the Wisconsin State Fair that he can find within an hour. I was surprised that he didn’t seem to be in any particular rush, but by the time he eats a 1/2-pound pork chop after a slice of cheesecake dipped in chocolate on a stick, I can see why. It’s not as entertaining as it is painful, I hate to say it. I’d like to see him after a beer on a stick!
24 Hours, 24 Million Meals: Feeding New York City This was apparently episode 3 of a 4-part series about food production, the culture of eating, and the restaurant industry that aired on CBC, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. I thought it was extremely well done, and now that I know this, I’m going to watch the other parts. 43 minutes.
Wednesday’s menu: corn dogs and fried cheese curd; clam pie; and fresh madeleines.

Cheers to the organizers of the NYC Food Film Festival for bringing together my three passions: food (25 years and going), film festivals (I’ve worked for three), and things that are free (timeless). Really, really well done events!

Long Island City.

Photobucket

NYC Food Film Festival,NYC,Food Film Festival

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

South Street Seaport.

Food Film Festival,NYC,NYC Food Film Festival,New York

NYC Food Film Festival,Food Film Festival,NYC,New York

Photobucket

