Photobucket

Afternoon lighting in Central Park…

Photobucket

I’m glad I’ve managed to keep my camera battery charged for much of the season, as the best of these shots were taken at random when I was set on other tasks–often simply in transit. This, for example, was taken on Park on the Upper East Side. I was on the phone with my mom, stranded on an island waiting for a pedestrian light, when I looked to my side and saw this lighting. I simply said, “Can you hold on for a minute–I’m so sorry–” and scrambled to get the shot. I think spring cured me of texting, talking, and scanning music on my iPhone while I walk…

Photobucket

I’ve been doing a lot of this–reading in Central Park, trying to get a bit of color while still wearing a significant amount of SPF.

Photobucket

I crossed the Brooklyn Bridge! I was more or less waiting to do this with someone, as the idea of walking above bridge traffic seemed absolutely terrifying, but, view notwithstanding, it’s anticlimactic. I’m glad I did it. I recall being a bit stressed at the time.

Photobucket

From a different POV.

Photobucket

This is Friday, May 8–I read about Rosemary Fiore’s “Pyrotechnics” gallery opening in the Village Voice and wandered over to the MPD early in the day to see it. Beautiful color. I didn’t stop there–I spent much of the day gallery-hopping.

Photobucket

How I once loved carnivals, I now love the idea of carnivals. I happened across what would soon be a street carnival on W 25th, and, though I hated to have to work that night, an already-stale fried Oreo would suffice to convey the experience.

Photobucket

The Facebook comments on this photo have been hilarious. Yes, this man is proud of what he has to offer.

Photobucket

Every child’s fantasy: a truckload of stuffed animals.

Photobucket

Had I not been on a time constraint to go to work, relatively clean, with dry hair, I would have offered to help the carnies test this one. I was much more interested in being the bloke than the soak–how fun would that be? (It seems very fun.)

Photobucket

Saturday, May 9–I met up with a classmate in Fort Greene for brunch at the General Greene (candied bacon!) followed by flea-marketing at the Brooklyn Flea. Beautiful backdrop…

Photobucket

…with some really interesting photo opportunities.

Photobucket

I just loved this. Among garden gnomes, he’s clearly the misanthrope. “Must I stand with the others?”

Photobucket

Fast-forward a week to Saturday, May 16. I was late for brunch plans and had to race the length of St. Mark’s between Astor Place and 1st Avenue–but how could I resist stopping to snap a picture of a grown man–a tall one, at that–wearing a neon pink spandex unitard on a unicycle? I also saw some female nudity. I later learned it was a dance parade, but it could have been anyone’s guess, really.

Photobucket

Sunday, May 17, Carroll Gardens. I had brunch at Buttermilk Channel by myself (the Bloody Mary with dill-infused vodka and a raw oyster is a destination in and of itself, and I enjoyed the food as well) then walked to Park Slope to meet up with a classmate for a big street festival. This was just a pleasant shot along the walk.

Photobucket

I was blown away when I passed this warehouse, with what must be a fresh coat of paint… It reads, “Open your eyes! No more corporate bullshit! Fuk Wall St.”

Photobucket

The festival was a lot of fun. I was thrilled to get this candid. Who doesn’t like bubbles?! That woman. That woman does not like bubbles.

Photobucket

I love this. Flirtatious toes and toys.

Photobucket

Another shot I liked after reviewing the day’s roll. (This is digital, so I say “roll” a bit facetiously.)

Photobucket

Back to Manhattan. Washington Square Park.

Photobucket

This pianist was playing incredible music in the northeast corner of Washington Square–the theme song to “The Piano,” Beatles variations, I believe there was some Coldplay… I returned to the park later in the week to get the buffet lunch at the Space Market–the Japanese food had looked so enticing when I stopped in to buy band-aids on the piano day–and was disappointed that the pianist was not there. I ended up eating at a communal table, and a couple sat down next to me and proceeded to have a very intimate fight. This is exactly why public spaces and their uses are so well researched… Coincidentally I think both in the relationship were academics, either graduate students or young profs.

Photobucket

Beautiful color.

Photobucket

And… another week passes. We’re up to the present day. I decided to walk the perimeter of the bottom tip of the island, starting in Chinatown, going down to the South Street Seaport, back up to Tribeca, and home. It was almost 8 miles of walking in all. I took a few random shots, but a lot of my day was less about sight than taste/sound/touch.

Photobucket

Case in point. In Chinatown, I hoped to find a mooncake, a heavy pastry of thick dough with a sweet and salty egg yolk in the center. I might have found one, but I settled on this bun at M&W Bakery Inc., a light dough filled with egg yolk, ginger, and slices of a rubbery black fruit/candy that bore no resemblance to anything I know (which I like). I had another, less interesting, bun as well.

Photobucket

South Street Seaport. Entertainment. I actually just sat at Il Porto with a glass of bubbly, reading about the Wright exhibit at the Guggenheim. I want to go.

Photobucket

Tugboat. Enjoyed watching these pass on the East River as I played tennis earlier last week…

Photobucket

I love boats.

Photobucket

It looks much longer than it feels to walk it. (The bridge.)

Photobucket

TriBeCa! I think I have a neighborhood-crush.

Photobucket

Reason #47 why it’s a good idea for me not to tinker with my electronics while I walk–I watched these guys for a few minutes. They seemed to be enjoying themselves (and were completely oblivious to me).

Photobucket

An unexpectedly striking shot.

Photobucket

I adore this building in TriBeCa. It’s like a little bohemian, doing its own thing on Canal Street.

Photobucket

According to Gmaps pedometer, this weekend alone, I covered 22 miles on foot, which, for a city of 22 square miles, should feel like a lot more than it does. The best way to reward myself for all that exercise? Truffle egg toast at Inoteca, of course.

