Photobucket

After a weekend with family in Marblehead and Boston, Massachusetts, I arranged to spend Monday evening in New York City.  I ended up staying two nights and having one of the most interesting trips…

Monday. I checked in to the Gershwin Hotel on East 27th in mid-afternoon and, in this order, climbed 13 flights of stairs for good measure after sitting in my car since morning, showered, opened a bottle of wine and sipped a glass while I put on makeup, and photographed as much of the hotel as I could. I started in the lobby.

Photobucket

Piano lounge. Throughout the evening, a pianist was practicing for a Gershwin recital. I got to hear it in advance!

Photobucket

Looking back toward the entrance.

Photobucket

View from my room!

Photobucket

Badass…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

My favorite piece.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Funny thing about this… I saw a similar Warhol in MoMA a couple of years ago and decided to do a similar pose. Take a look.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Washington Square Park, under construction. I wandered the Village in search of Banksy’s Pet Shop–it’s been taken down–and Thai food.

Photobucket

I cannot believe I’ve never had a Gray’s Papaya hot dog.

Photobucket

Blind Tiger. I was running very late after seeing MIKE SUPER perform… so we stayed very late.

Photobucket

Tuesday. Lunch at the Oyster Bar in Grand Central Station. I ordered panroast of mixed seafood. I was told by a ridiculously handsome and witty server that the recipe hasn’t changed for years. The seafood is sauteed in butter, then the seafood stock and cream are added, then Worcestershire sauce and paprika. (Generally.) It is served with a slice of bread soaked in the sauce, which is the most beautiful salmon color. The seafood was a generous dish of shrimp, scallops, oysters, clams, and lobster, and it paired nicely with a French Viognier.

Photobucket

Walking toward Grand Central, I passed “the pond at Bryant Park,” an ad hoc skating rink set up by Delta and Citi. After lunch, I went to where my car was parked to get my skates out of the trunk. It was so fun… and free!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I took a tip and went to the New York Public Library.

Photobucket

Photobucket

A little hard to leave. But at least I had my car…

Photobucket

…which meant I didn’t have cash. I now know what happens if you don’t have enough cash to get through a toll, and I can say it’s annoying but not horrible. I pulled off the highway at the first exit I could, and the only sign of civilization was a stripmall 2 miles away with a Burlington Coat Factory, Chuck E. Cheese, and “Asian Food Markets,” with an ATM sign. I ended up going shopping and am THRILLED to have found canned mangosteen, guanabana, and rambutan. I also picked up lychees, which I already love. I was having fun, so I also bought dehydrated squid, jellied grass, and a package of small brown dreidel-shaped snacks with a swirl pattern with no English on the label. I can’t report on the squid or grass yet, but the snacks are delicious and, appropriately, a bit nutty.

Photobucket

