Photobucket

I’ve been driving back and forth between Fredericksburg and Charlottesville to do my restaurant reviews and see friends since I moved.  I wish I had photos of every unusual sight I’ve come across–I will never stop appreciating the eccentricities of the city and the mountain landscape –as this autumn has been particularly scenic.

Take, for example, the fact that I saw rainbows on the Wednesday and Thursday following the Tuesday election of Barack Obama. The first was a full 180-degree rainbow over I-95, coming home from a daytrip to Washington. The second was a double rainbow driving north on Rte 20 from Charlottesville, near Orange. I only have phone pictures of this rainbow. I thought, “Blue skies ahead…”

I had something slightly better than the iPhone with which to take pictures on Saturday, November 1. My mom and I went to hear Larry Sabato’s “Crystal Ball” talk at Newcomb  Hall on the U.Va. Grounds.  Amazing!  We then skipped the game and headed south to Vintage Virginia Apples and the CoveGarden Ruritan Club’s 8th Apple Harvest Festival.  I covered the event for The Hook–and took a lot of photos.

We then drove west to Staunton, for my second review meal at farm-to-table restaurant Zynodoa.  I loved the restaurant… and told everyone about it.

It started out sunny…

Photobucket

Then this happened.

Photobucket

And this.

Photobucket

Downtown Orange–I like taking the business route.

Photobucket

Second-to-last farmer’s market of the year in Charlottesville. Glad I went.

Photobucket

Apple Harvest Festival! Great band.

Photobucket

Not a bad view.

Photobucket

My mom recommended I get this shot. Glad she did.

Photobucket

Brunswick stew and apple butter vats!

Photobucket

This goat makes fantastic cheese.

Photobucket

Lake view on our way out of the parking lot.

Photobucket

Now in Staunton. The glassblowing studio.

Photobucket

Pullman’s–memories of ice cream sundaes here when I went to Governor School.

Photobucket

An old train car by Pullman’s.

Photobucket

I’ve never enjoyed spending time in antique stores… that feeling of commodifying a past life…

Photobucket

“One of these last Technicolor days of autumn…”

Photobucket

An abandoned building–beautiful.

Photobucket

More beautiful graffiti. I love this kind of mural.

Photobucket

Clock tower.

Photobucket

Another historic building.  Wish I had photos from Zynodoa… again, perfect meal!

Photobucket

