Photobucket

Long story short: I canceled an event in Houston on the Monday following Hurricane Ike’s tragic path through east Texas.  I could postpone my flight and arrive on Tuesday, but any other changes to my schedule would cost me at least $600.  So I went.  I landed and immediately drove to Austin, and then on to San Antonio.

I was lucky–I was home.  But things were different: six new skyscrapers had been added to the skyline since I was in for Austin City Limits last year, and I have grown into a professional.  I worried for myself, and for Austin, that hard-earned audacity could be lost.

I ate antelope at Wink, one of Austin’s best and a local leader in the slow food movement.  (Deliciously gamey, and clearly, the chef had tenderized the bejesus out of it.)  I went to Whole Foods and Central Market, twice, and my favorite employee was still working the sandwich station.  I drank a tinto de verano on the patio of the San Jose.  I was delivered to Flipnotics to enjoy yet more wine on the back of a motorcycle, with speed bumps, a meaningful afternoon in so many ways.

I decided I should see if I could stay in Austin one more night, and providence was grinning slyly at me.  Apparently, anything can still happen in Austin, and I’m still bold enough to let it.

I must look like such an amateur when I start taking a gazillion pictures out airplane windows!  It never gets old.

Photobucket

Taken as I was landing in Houston.  Its multiple city skylines.

Photobucket

Post Ike, south Houston was in really, really bad shape.  I pulled over to take this, but on the road, it was too hard to get shots of the many tall buildings and homes with boarded windows.

Photobucket

Not normal.

Photobucket

On I-10.

Photobucket

The first gas station where I could fill up, I was reminded how Texans do things.

Photobucket

I suspect I was driving through a butterly migration, because I stopped counting after 40.  It was awful.  I did like that Jetta, though.

Photobucket

Central Market’s pumpkin display (one of many varieties.)  These are just larger than basketballs.

Photobucket

Home.

Photobucket

I thought it was “Air Sex” themed air guitar.  It was not.  It was air sex.

Photobucket

My favorite meal in unemployment–warm flatbread from Whole Foods and gazpacho (and two rounds of free samples).

Photobucket

Taken in the lobby of the new Grand Hyatt in San Antonio.

Photobucket

A friend-of-my-best-friend, who has become a friend, both of whom work for Hyatt, made a special arrangement for me: a business suite all to myself.  (And my new purse, not yet unwrapped!)  I was not there but for a night, but it was a very special occasion to see Alpha Chi friends.

Photobucket

The master bedroom.

Photobucket

After I was home, I got some real air guitar into me in DC.  Tim “Six String General” is center stage.

Photobucket

Fantastic photo, taken by Bettie from Brooklyn who lost a toe to air guitar.

Photobucket

I can’t resist taking photos of bathroom graffiti!

Photobucket

