Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Ni hao! ^^

I regret that I went to China in October, co-leading a Cavalier Travels tour, and eight months later, I’ve not turned my notes into a post.  (I’ve been a little busy, and I’m not talking about the blogging aspect of this.)  I’d like to think I’m halfway there–photos and captions are ready.  Captions correspond to the photos above them.  To jump to a city or site, simply click on the anchor links.  Enjoy.

Beijing
Xi’an
Chongqing
Yangtse River
Shanghai

Beijing

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Skewered foods in Donghuamen Night Market in Beijing.  I ate skewered barbecued eel (delicious, to be expected), but I couldn’t do the insects or what looked like rodents.  Had I wished to, I certainly would have had my options.  For the next several shots, it is just Kevin and me.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Public space for exercise is quite common.  This enclosed park just northeast of the Forbidden City had a lively ping-pong match going.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
First sight of the Drum Tower, by foot.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Ascending the Drum Tower–this would later turn out to be a less humorous shot than we intended.  The next day, we returned to this site with our travelers and one of the older gentlemen experienced heart failure after the steep ascent.  I seem to recall there being about 80 stairs, and they are abnormally steep and worn so that each stair slopes down.  Try to imagine a language barrier between our group and Chinese EMTs, a stretcher carrying a 200 pound man just over 80 years old, and the descent.  It’s terrifying.  Glad to say he is fine.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I do love this shot.  I was in awe.


West view from the Drum Tower.  Note the clear sky in Beijing… it happens.  I think American media have been really unfair to the Chinese.


Inside the Lama Temple in Beijing.


Prayers inside the Lama Temple.


One of my favorite nights.  I believe we were in the Qianhai Lake area–expatriot bars and restaurants, where bartenders and European and Chinese bands play American classic rock covers.


So much construction in Beijing, and fascinating architecture.  I took this from a cab on our way to the airport to pick up travelers.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
With travelers in tow.  Olympic pride was visible everywhere.  This was taken in Tiananmen Square, but it’s one of many.  The whole city was aglow for the duration as we coincided with a very rare meeting of the Chinese Communist Party in Beijing.  Every road was lined with flowerbeds.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I was very interested in the legacy of Chairman Mao.  One of my best stories from the trip is one of the two (only two) times I split off from the group.  I had the opportunity to see his preserved corpse in Memorial Hall, which has been on occasional display since his death in 1976.  According to my Lonely Planet guidebook, which was completely accurate, viewing hours were only from 8:30-11:30am Tuesday through Sunday, and 2-4pm Tuesday and Thursday excluding July and August.  I was in the Forbidden City with my group on a Thursday, our last full day in Beijing.  I was about a mile north of Memorial Hall at 10:30, with thousands of Forbidden City visitors between me and Mao.  I told my guide Li I wanted to go but expressed reluctance because it would be wrong to leave other travelers.  She seemed surprised, in a good way.  I suggested that there was a chance I could run the length of the Forbidden City, walk through the memorial, and return to our hotel to meet Kevin and our recovering patient to join the group for lunch.  She said GO.  And I did.  I ran, dodging school groups and Chinese guards, and when I finally arrived in Tiananmen Square, breathless, I paid a young local a dollar or two to guide me to the locker area for my purse, then to bring me to the entrance, where I began walking in a single-file line through the memorial.  It was one of the most poignant experiences of my life.  I cried very, very real tears for reasons I do not even know.  And it worked out perfectly.  The group hardly noticed I’d gone.  But so much had happened in that time…


Garden in a former official’s home.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Sunrise in Beijing.  I was looking for a traditional dumpling breakfast, and I was struck by the fact that I was looking straight at the sun, physically unaffected.  This is how it would be for a lot of the trip, with the combination of fog and pollution.  (I refuse to believe it’s all pollution.)  Sadly, I couldn’t find the dumplings LP recommended, so I brought back McDonald’s sausage and egg biscuits and hash browns.  It was delicious… oh well.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Dancing girl!


Forbidden City school groups.


Forbidden City.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
A fresh paint job for the Forbidden City–there’s some discrepancy as to what the color should be.  I believe the story is that the authentic tawny color is not as attractive as red, but after painting half of it red, they’re going back to authentic.  It’s just a lot of money spent needlessly.  It was shortly after I took this that I took off for Memorial Hall.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Locals playing music in the park outside the Temple of Heaven.  I enjoyed that excursion immensely.  Nice cigarette break at the entrance, as I recall.


The Temple of Heaven.  This photo just does not do its beauty justice.  The colors are spectacular.  You can appreciate the circular building within a square foundation–a symbol of heaven.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
There I am!


Chinese Opera.  I was given a booster seat!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Kevin and I had a fun night off–this is a hostel bar in Beijing.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Very few minivans in Beijing.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Great Wall of China!  Our tour group was quite good.  According to Lonely Planet, most groups enter the Great Wall at Badaling, and it’s overcrowded.  We traveled a bit further to access it at Mutianyu.  We still enjoyed a cable car ascent and haggling over souvenirs with aggressive locals, but there were not crowds on the wall itself.  Several of us enjoyed a good hike.  I only made it as far as the top of the “C” in this photo in an hour’s time (with stops in the guard towers to take pictures of the fall foliage from up high).  It’s hard to appreciate the distance.


The Olympic stadium, also known as the “nest,” was still under construction when we visited.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Kevin took this–caught!  I was just coming back from an emergency shopping trip for our dinner the last night, and I stopped to take a sunset photo then continued to sprint back to the hotel.  He was looking out his window at the sunset, too.  Apparently, we all were.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Dinner in Beihei Park with University of Virginia alumni.  Quite extraordinary. 

I love Beijing.

Xi’an


1+1 Bar.  Looking at this makes me laugh.  I got some attention.


Xi’an’s Drum Tower, which no one wanted to scale.


Xi’an’s Drum Tower, from our dumpling restaurant.


This looks like a joke, but it’s probably not.  A sign outside a Xi’an bar.


Terracotta Warriors in the tomb of emperor Qin Shi Huang.  It’s a relatively short bus ride from Xi’an.  To think this underground tomb was only discovered in 1974!  The beauty of the newness is that I felt privileged to see successful restoration, ongoing archeological efforts, and unearthed figures just meters from each other.  There are thousands of warriors, each individually sculpted and painted, with a great deal of detail in their facial expressions, hair, attire, and weaponry.  The warriors are being restored, as a jealous general commanded his army to destroy much of the tomb not long after the death of emperor Qin Shi Huang.  They are not repainted [yet?], but I rather like the consistent clay color.  If you have the opportunity to do this tour solo, I recommend it.


I was a huge fan of the Muslim Quarter in Xi’an.  Those are cow heads.  If I’d had longer, I would have tried some interesting meats, but I did manage to fit in a persimmon cake, one of the world’s most delicious treats.  I relished the oil burns.


Inside the Great Mosque in Xi’an.


Nightlife in Xi’an.  I wish I knew the area where we were–great bars!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Follow the sparkly lights.  Do not take pictures.  Accept cigarettes.  EPIC.


A burial mound on our way to the airport–this is what Qin Shi Huang’s tomb would have looked like before the dig.


Sacrificial clay warriors.  These are miniature, as opposed to the emperor’s full-scale warriors.  But there were some large animal skeletons…

Chongqing


Situated between the Yangtse and Jialing Rivers, Chonqing is foggy, and the pollution more or less exacerbates it.  Five million people and two rivers, though–that’s a lot of bridges.  The world’s largest billboard was constructed on its riverbank, and it was eventually taken down because advertisers would not pay to display a message that wouldn’t be seen. 


Typical apartment building during our bus tour up and down the city cliffs.


Kentucky Fried Chicken Barbie watch.  I will cherish that.  See the grin in the left of the grame.


Just hope it’s not coal and there’s a filter.  Chongqing is a large automobile producer, and it leads in motorcycle production in the world.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
On our way to Dazu to see stone carvings, our bus stopped on the side of the road so we could pay a visit to a rural farm, where four brothers inhabited a complex with their families.  I remember mud, chickens, old calendars, and trash, and hand-made wicker furniture that would sell for hundreds in a Pottery Barn catalog but for the equivalent of a fold-out chair in China.  It was a very stressful experience for me, and I love this candid Kevin got–it says it all.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Brick-laying along the route.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Wine fermented with a snake.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Drinking wine fermented with a snake.  Beware tongue-numbing peppers in the Schezuan region–you’ll think the snake bit.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I loved our travelers.  Walking with Barbara in Dazu.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Sculptures carved into rock wall, dated AD 800-1200.  Buddhist, Confucian, and Daoist influences.  Monks repaint every so often.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
College art students were working while we were there.


Beer and Pepsi Light–what I drank.  The beer was accidental, but I took it to show off the pull-tab straw technique.  I never mastered it.

Yangtse River Cruise

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
The deathboat.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Me, sitting with an IV in my hand, tapering off of food poisoning.  If they say don’t drink the water, don’t even brush your teeth with the water, for the love of GOD, listen.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I did nothing but sleep and watch CNN’s coverage of the California fire and read New Yorkers (and be sick) the day before we entered the Three Gorges, so I was up VERY early to see this.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
On the deck.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Looking at this again for the first time in months, I am in awe.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
A village on the Yangzi, one of many that will soon be submerged with the completion of the Three Gorges Dam.  It is one of my favorite photos from the trip.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
We took a small-boat excursion to the Little Three Gorges.  They are not that little.  Our guide donned a traditional fishing cover and put on a show for us.  Another incredible photo.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Our cruise ship passed through the locks of the dam overnight, and the lighting was quite spectacular.  I could almost touch the walls of the locks–but I did not try.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Why I love this photo is because I was seeing what I’d read about in the Atlantic (thank you James Fallows) just months before–with almost identical photos.  I took this on a bus to the Three Gorges Dam, and I was not fully recovered.  Shades of gray and brown are not particularly therapeutic, and I was struggling.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
View of the locks and a ship carrying cars from above.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Three Gorges Dam.  This photo cannot convey the scale.  Imagine that the white points in what looks like a floating dock are taller than an average person.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I love English translations.  Photo courtesy of Dee.  Fake smile–I still felt so sick.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Set up on a date.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
KEVIN!

Shanghai

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
The Bund.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Shanghai by day.  Pearl Tower.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Finally, a “Pepsi city.”  (I do not like Coke, for the record.)

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
The look.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Bazaar surrounding Yuyuan Gardens.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
“Here we sell of Red Wine important from spain a bottle of RMB 35.00.”

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Yuyuan Gardens.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Luggage, sunglasses, North Face jackets, and almost anything you want–except, perhaps, an ATM to buy more stuff.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Chinese acrobats.  There are five, maybe 6, motorcyclists inside that globe.  I was sore after this show because I was so tense watching it.  Imagine how their mothers feel.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Fireworks.  And a museum full of wonderful rejects.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I cannot take credit for this shot.  We were in Zhouzhuang, a village of canals.  I suspect it’s a popular excursion for guided tours.  Regardless, traveler Dee took this, and I thank her.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Facebar.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Facebar exterior.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Fabrique, Eurotrash band on Halloween.

