mcmansion.jpg

I returned to the “Live Music Capital of the World” in September for a conference on the oil industry, with a special appearance by Dick Cheney.

Yeah right.

Austin City Limits 2007. Three for three.

lakeaustin.jpg

I took this on one of my favorite drives within the city –as opposed to my 2-3 hour Hill Country routes– that runs along Lake Austin.

penguins.jpg

This nursery is situated at the intersection of the 360 loop and Bee Cave. When I lived in Austin, the lawn was always filled with pink flamingos. I had to get out and take a picture when I saw penguins.

mcmansion.jpg

The affluence divide of Austin is literally east versus west of Highway 35. East Austin is where the Latino community lives, though the gentrification has begun. West Austin (and North Austin), particularly West Lake Hills, Terrytown, Rollingwood, and the Lake Travis area are incredibly wealthy. Beautiful Spanish-style architecture homes are built into the hills. I want one! But Austin’s defined by its hippies, the culture of the starving artist (be it musician, filmmaker, photog, etc.), and this remarkably large vocal –and yet non-voting– population makes it mark.

marias.jpg

This is Maria’s Taco Shack, and a large sculpture that looks as though it’s made of paper mache marks the spot. It is PACKED on weekends. Good breakfast tacos, but it’s really about the experience. I’d sooner go to Taco Shack. I am not a fan of Taco Cabana, though, aka TC’s. For the record.

bumper.jpg

Car art is always hilarious. “Mission accomplished” just got culture-jammed.

florist.jpg

This florist is on Barton Springs Road. Beautiful building.

graffiti.jpg

I enjoyed this bathroom graffiti in the Jackelope.

stage.jpg

There it is– Austin City Limits. For my records, I’m listing the bands I saw, in order of my enjoyment of them/infamy:
Muse
The Killers
Arcade Fire
Bob Dylan
Ghostland Observatory
LCD Soundsystem
Spoon
Gotan Project
The Kaiser Chiefs
Indigo Girls
Regina Spektor
Damien Rice
Peter Bjorn and John
My Morning Jacket
Crowded House
Blue October?
I was very bummed to miss Bloc Party. I’ve seen them, but the new album is amazing. The lineup was great– I especially enjoyed missing Wilco!

