austin3-motel.jpg

I traveled with one of our top faculty members, a Dean and Professor of Psychology who specializes in olfaction, the sense of smell.  If you’ve ever had the pleasure of being at a dinner table with me when conversation runs dry, for 0.000073 seconds, then you’ve certainly heard me tell about studies of attraction levels and familial recognition based on tee shirt smells.  Fascinating! He did a fantastic job, and I’d like to think Texas showed him a good time.

austin3-wholefoods1.jpg

The Whole Foods Headquarters.

austin3-wholefoods2.jpg

The Whole Foods entrance.

austin3-motel.jpg

Former Texas governor Ann Richards had recently passed.  The [in]famous Austin Motel honored her on its [in]famous sign, which usually reads, “So close and yet so far out.”

austin3-saddleglass.jpg

A former beer brewer, the professor was open to my taking him to a favorite Austin biergarten, the Gingerman.  They have hundreds of beers, and I ordered the one that earned me an embarrassing “saddle glass.”  I felt like I was drinking out of an Erlenmeyer flask.

austin3-lbj.jpg

A friend recommended that we visit the Lyndon B. Johnson Library & Museum to kill time one afternoon.  Given that the most common daytime tourist activities in Austin include swimming in chlorine-free springs and hiking through low brush to see small rock formations, my request was ambitious.  But anyway.

sanan2-alamo.jpg

El Alamo, San Antone.  Botching the languages, as American do best.

sanan2-segway.jpg

Segway Tours.  No comment necessary.

sanan2-riverwalkbridge.jpg

Riverwalk.

sanan2-riverwalk.jpg

Same.

sanan2-omni.jpg

La Mansion Del Rio Omni Hotel, San Antonio.  Very very reasonable, very very beautiful.

