cincinnati-southside.jpg

Let me tell you: I can be a complete idiot. –Like the time when I booked my Cincinnati trip and forgot to reserve a rental car? And my favorite (NOT) rental car company that starts with an E was out of cars and offered me a 15-passenger van? And oh yeah, it was about 8pm and the middle of winter and pouring rain?

Long story short: I got in, I took a cab to my hotel, and I took a cab to Beluga Sushi. I’d made the reservation before I even left Charlottesville, but I seriously thought (no offense, Ohio) that they wouldn’t accommodate me on a Monday night after 9pm. I was SO wrong! They welcomed me by name, sat me in their main dining room near (but next to) a big party of hot 20-somethings, and served me some of the best sushi of my life.

The rest of my trip was intensely work-oriented, as it’s supposed to be. One quick story, and one observation. I looked up places to get take-out food near my hotel on the Best of Cincinnati website and otherwise Googled “cincinnati dining” and “cincinnati salad,” and I found a restaurant within walking distance called the Universal Grille. I was especially pleased to see that it was a gay-friendly establishment, as I like patroning open-minded restaurants. When I arrived, it was immediately obvious that it was a gay bar! My food wasn’t ready, so I hung out. No one hit on me! I was disappointed. Anyway, fantastic salad, but I’ll get fried chicken next time, not grilled. It was the bartender’s recommendation to get grilled because it’s healthier.

I spent a very brief overnight in Columbus. I can not speak highly enough of Lindey’s, a popular restaurant in the German Village.  It was packed on the weekday night I was visiting.  The menu is fine American bistro fare. 

cincinnati-stadium2.jpg

cincinnati-stadium11.jpg

Cincinnati: two stadiums on the water.

cincinnati-southside.jpg

Downtown Cincinnati.

cincinnati-terminal.jpg

Museum Center at Union Terminal in Cincinnati.

cincinnati-skyline.jpg

Cincinnati skyline from the Terminal.

cincinnati-northside1.jpg

An all too noticeable difference between the south side and north side of the city.

cincinnati-northside2.jpg

cincinnati-northside3.jpg

columbus-view.jpg

Columbus from my room in the Hyatt.

columbus-mural.jpg

Beautiful alley in Columbus.

columbus-downtown.jpg

The state capitol– interesting building.

